The Flax Trust

The Rose Bowl 2010

The 26th FLAX TRUST ROSEBOWL charity golf competition took place at Massereene  Golf Club on 3rd September 2010. Proceeds in aid of Northern Ireland Childrens Hospice.

One hundred and eight players (27 teams) teed off commencing 11am on a course which was in great order and the weather could not have been better.

The competition was won by Belfast Beacon, with a Mastercard of 54 points, with scores from Gary Burns, Patrick Fegan, Tom McCallan and Ciaran Smith.

Runner-up prizes went to, Flax Housing Association with 52 points with scores from Andrew Morris, Bobby McFall, Joe Jordan and Eddie McAteer.

Third place went Ardoyne – Shankill Partnership with scores from Eamon Hawkins, Adrian McGarrity, Seamus Baxter and John McAleer.

The overall CLUB Competition was won by Paul Devlin of Chesapeake NI Ltd with 40 points off 11.  Andrew Morris was 2nd with 38 points off +1 after a ‘countback’ while third spot went to Alan Weir also with 38 points also after a countback.

The overall SOCIETY winner was Gary Burns with 46 points off 22. Runner-up was Jonathon McNeill (again) with 37 points of 17. Third spot went to Martin Carson with 36 points off 17.

The ‘Back Nine’ was won by Chris Corke with 22 points and the Front Nine by Darren Sheriff with 21pts off 15

‘Nearest The Pins’ were won by Malachy Toner, Paul McAreavey and Darren Sheriff.   Seamus Baxter won the ‘Nearest the Pin in 2.’ Darren Sheriff had the ‘Longest Drive.’

Fr Myles Chairman of FLAX TRUST The Rose Bowl 2010

Fr Myles Kavanagh, Chairman FLAX TRUST, and John Patterson, Trustee, present a cheque to Northern Ireland Childrens Hospice representative Mary Peacock, for £4,000-00 which was raised at the event.