FLAX TRUST MUSIC BURSARY RECIPIENTS TO ASSIST FURTHER STUDIES 2020

Flax Trust Inter-School Cross Community Gala Choir Competition (FISCA) Belfast City Hall

Over 200 young people from North Belfast took part in The Flax Trust Inter-School Cross Community Gala Choir Competition (FISCA)



Boys' Model & Mercy College. Winners of the Most Captivating Performance. Teachers Michelle McGirr, Sharon Baird, Katerina Brown with Fr. Myles, Sr. Mary, Lady Empy & Claire McCollum, Master of Ceremonies

The Flax Trust Music Awards 2020 Finalists/Instrumental Whital Hall, Queens University Belfast Winner Andrew Douglas, Flute Fiachra de hOra, Viola 2nd, Tom Myles, Clarinet 3rd





Oklahoma! Musical in the Mac Theatre,Belfast. Featuring many Flax Trust Music Bursary recipients.



The Flax Trust Music Awards 2020 Finalists/Vocal Harty Room, Queens University Belfast

Owen Lucas, Tenor. Ellen Mawhinney, Soprano.

Ellen Mawhinney, Soprano. Jade Phoenix, Soprano

> The Flax Trust, 333 Crumlin Road, Belfast BT14 7EA Tel:+44 (028) 9074 5241 Fax:+44 (028) 90748025 marie@flaxtrust.com www.flaxtrust.com Charity No. XN 48703

Flax Trust/America c/o Mutual of America 4th Floor, 320 Park Ave. New York, NY 10022 Tel: 212 224 1208 marie@flaxtrust.com 501(C) 3 Charitable Organisation

We are very grateful to Mutual of America for this invaluable facility.

Welcome to the Thirtieth Flax Trust Washington DC 'virtual' Event

BREAKFAST CO-CHAIRS

JAMES M. BOLAND President, Boland Chair Flax Trust/America MICHAEL D. McCurry Director/Professor Centre for Public Theology Wesley Theological Seminary, Dir. Flax Trust/America

BREAKFAST COMMITTEE

Stacey Allen Brian Boland Louis Boland, Jr. Sean Boland, Esq. Sean Boland Jr. Oakley Brooks Michael Clark John Collins Hon. Steve Coyle Pattie Cunningham Hon. Joe Crowley Brian Darmody Susan Davis Hon. Paula Dobriansky Hon. Tom Donahue Robert Dormer, Esq.

Andrew Elliott John Feehery Jeff Finkle Fr. Seamus Finn OMI John Finucan Heather Foley Esq. Tony Culley-Foster Hon. Mark Gearan James Griffin John Hanley James Hickey Sarah Heitkemper Lisa Kardell Fr. Myles Kavanagh C.P. Laura Faul Professor Ross Lewin

Peter McArdle Hon. Ed McElroy Angela Moore Hon. Bruce Morrison, Esq. Mike O'Neil, Esq. President Pat O'Shea Professor Sandra Quinn Larry Reeves Sarah Rowan Steve Saxon Esq. Matt Shay Mark Shields Professor Stephen Thomas Mark Tuohey III Sr. Mary Turley Hon. James Walsh



Honorees, Bonnie Dormer for husband Bob, Hyman,Phelps & McNamara PC, Margaret Brennan Senior Foreign Affairs Correspondent CBS News & Moderator 'Face the Nation', Hon. Joe Crowley with Jim Boland, Jim Quinn, Sr Mary Turley, Mike McCurry, John Feehery all Flax Trust/America.



in the second second



Enrichment Through Respect for Difference

The School for Social Enterprises in Ireland (SSEI) is devoted exclusively to leadership, management, business development programmes and events for the social economy sector.





2020 Cohert

New Lodge Duncairn Community Health, Programme Coordinator

Cultúrlann Uí Chanáin (An Gaeláras Ltd.) Riarthóir Ionaid / Coordinator

Friends of Derry City Cemetery, Project Co Ordinator

Market Development Association, CTI Project Worker

West Belfast Enterprise Board, Business Services Exec

Donegall Pass Community Forum, Vice Chair and mentor

Foyle Down Syndrome Trust, Social Enterprise Co-ordinator

West Belfast, Finance Manager

Turas, Volunteer Coordinator

Destined, Founder

TapSOS, CEO

EPIC, Advocate and Outreach Worker

Gasyard Development Trust, Manager

ACT INITAITIVE, Project co-ordinator

The Mango Girl CIC, 17. Founder

Dance Addiction, Business Development Lead

Enterprise North West, Business Consultant

US E L Business Development & Marketing

Portstewart Community Association Chair

Quaker Service Societal Change, Project Manager

Ashton Community Trust, Quality Assurance Officer

Costume & Theatrics / Repurposing, Managing Director

Banbridge District Enterprises, (Social Ent) Project Officer

Springfield Charitable Association, Principal, BIG School









- Claire Allen
 Seamus Breslin
- Seamus Breslin
 Joseph Conere
- 4. Vivien Davidson
- 5. Fionntán Hargey
- Fionitan Har
 Nicole Irvine
- 7. Ron Mc Murray
- 8. James McAuley
- 9. Padraig McGonagle
- 10. Linda McKinney
- 11. Carrie Montgomery
- 12. William Riley
- 13. Ian Shanks
 14. Aisling Doherty
- 15. Fiona Anderson
- 16. Ava Brown
- 18. Claire Costello
- 19. Rory Doherty
- 20. Glenda Douglas
- 21. Maire Gaffney
- 22. Karen Gilgunn
- 23. Rebecca Hume
- 24. Shane Laverty
- 25. Caitlin Roberts
- **Flax Trust Mission**

The Flax Trust as a registered charity, formed in Belfast in 1977, has as it's Mission the reduction and, if possible, the elimination of community tensions and religious prejudices by creative engagement in economic and social development, education and training with inter-community activities including culture, the Arts, sport, health, social programmes, personal development and dedicated communication projects.

SNAPSHOT

2019 Washington DC Banquet at the Hay Adams



- 1 Karen Walker, Sarah Rowan, Sarah Heitkemper
- Jim Boland Co-chair welcomes guests
- 3 Mike McCurry Co-chair speaks with Fr Myles
- 4 Frankie Clogston, Jeff Finkle

2

- 5 Kenzie, Kasey & Hon. Joe Crowley
- 6 Aaron Phillip Dworkin, Jim Quinn, Hon. Tom Donahue7 Pres. Sean Mc Garvey, Carol Wheeler,
- Bruce Morrison, Greta Mulhall
- Peter McArdle, Lou Boland, Larry Reeves
 Matt Shay, Andrew Elliott, Jim Quinn,
- Margaret Brennan, Ambassador Dan Mulhall 10 Michael & Bonnie Dormer, Sean Boland Jr.
- 11 Heather Foley, Wes Kabance & guest,
- Hon. Ed McElroy, Edwina & Elizabeth McElroy 12 Patricia Keefer & AFT guest
- 13 Abbie & Kevin Boland
- 14 Elin Dando, Philippe Dickinson, Barton McFarlane

- 15 Ross Lewin, Sandra Quinn, Eddie Friel,
- Brian Darmody, Stephen Thomas, Pat O'SheaFr. Van Dyke, Sean Boland Sr., Kevin Walsh, Brian Boland
- 17 Mark Tuohey III, Tony Culley Foster, Oakley Brooks, Steve Coyle
- 18 Madison Ullano Crandall, Cheryl Marquis, Matt Mullin, Drew Hudson
- 19 Mike O'Neil, Brian Cahalane, Kevin McDonnell, Andrew Athy, Jay Hickey, John Feehery
- 20 Michael Hickey, Steve Saxon
- 21 Mary McGuinty, Ambassador Paula Dobriansky, Laura Faul
- 22 Suzanne Lynch, Emer Rocke, Fr. Seamus Finn, Brian O'Donovan, Norma Ces
- 23 Kirk Brungard, Samatha Connolly, Elizabeth McElroy